ipb exterior shot

Who We Are

Our Team

photo of Emmanouil Anagnoustou
Interim Executive Director

Emmanouil Anagnostou

emmanouil.anagnostou@uconn.edu

Biography »

Center Directors

Pamir Alpay on March 10, 2021. (Peter Morenus/UConn Photo)

S. Pamir Alpay, Ph.D.

Interim Vice President for Research, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship

Director, Project Daedalus – Air Force Advanced Manufacturing Initiative

Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

pamir.alpay@uconn.edu

Emmanouil Anagnostou, Ph.D.

Emmanouil Anagnostou, Ph.D.

Interim Executive Director, Innovation Partnership Building at UConn Tech Park

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering

Director, Eversource Energy Center

emmanouil.anagnostou@uconn.edu

George Bollas

George Bollas, Ph.D.

Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Director, Institute for Advanced Systems Engineering (IASE)

george.bollas@uconn.edu

John Chandy

John Chandy, Ph.D.

Department Head and Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Co-director, Connecticut Cybersecurity Center (C3)

Director, Center for Hardware and Embedded Systems Security and Trust

Co-director, Comcast Center of Excellence for Security Innovation (CSI)

john.chandy@uconn.edu

Richard Christenson

Richard Christenson, Ph.D.

Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Co-director, National Institute for Undersea Vehicle Technology

richard.christenson@uconn.edu

Lesley Frame

Lesley Frame, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering

Director, Center for Materials Processing Data (CMPD)

lesley.frame@uconn.edu

Rainer Hebert

Rainer Hebert, Ph.D.

Professor of Materials Science and Engineering

Director, Pratt & Whitney Additive Manufacturing Center (PW AMC)

Associate Director of the Institute of Materials Science (IMS)

rainer.hebert@uconn.edu

headshot Jeongho Kim

Jeongho Kim

Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Director, Connecticut Manufacturing Simulation Center (CMSC)

jeongho.kim@uconn.edu

Joseph Luciani

Joseph Luciani

Director, Proof of Concept Center (POCC)

Director, Quiet Corner Innovation Cluster (QCIC)

joseph.luciani@uconn.edu

Anson Ma

Anson W. K. Ma, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Director, Center for Science of Heterogeneous Additive Printing of 3D Materials (SHAP3D)

anson.ma@uconn.edu

Jeff McCutcheon

Jeffrey McCutcheon, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Al Geib Professor of Environmental Engineering Research & Education

Director, Connecticut Center for Applied Separations Technology (CCAST)

jeffrey.mccutcheon@uconn.edu

Laurent Michel

Laurent Michel, Ph.D.

Associate Head for Undergraduate Studies and Industry Relations, and Professor, Computer Science and Engineering

Co-director, Connecticut Cybersecurity Center (C3)

Co-director, Comcast Center of Excellence for Security Innovation (CSI)

Director, Synchrony Financial Center of Excellence in Cybersecurity

laurent.michel@uconn.edu

Sina Shahbazmohamadi

Sina Shahbazmohamadi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering

Director, Reverse Engineering Fabrication Inspection & Non-Destructive Evaluation (REFINE)

sina.shahbazmohamadi@uconn.edu

Steve Suib

Steven L. Suib, Ph.D.

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

Director of the Institute of Materials Science

Director, UConn Thermo Fisher Scientific Center for Advanced Microscopy and Materials Analysis

Director, Collins Aerospace Center for Advanced Materials

Co-director, UConn DENSsolutions Center for IN-siTu/Operando Electron Microscopy (InToEM)

steven.suib@uconn.edu

Yuanyuan Zhu

Yuanyuan Zhu, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering

Director, UConn DENSsolutions Center for IN-siTu/Operando Electron Microscopy (InToEM)

yuanyuan.2.zhu@uconn.edu

Business Development

Michael DiDonateo

Michael A. DiDonato

Business Development Manager

Phone: TBA

michael.didonato@uconn.edu

Scientific and Technical Staff

mark biron

Mark Biron

Additive Manufacturing Center

Phone: 860.486.0818

mark.biron@uconn.edu

Joseph Luciani

Joseph Luciani

Director, Proof of Concept Center (POCC)

Director, Quiet Corner Innovation Cluster (QCIC)

Phone: 860.486.5743

joseph.luciani@uconn.edu

Alexandra Merkouriou

Alexandra Merkouriou

Program Manager of Project Daedalus

alexandra.merkouriou@uconn.edu

Daniella Morales

Daniela Morales, Ph.D.

X-Ray Laboratories

Phone: 860.486.1728

daniela.morales@uconn.edu

Lucas Parent

Lucas Parent on July 15, 2020. (Peter Morenus/UConn Photo)

Lucas Parent, Ph.D.

Electron Microscopy Research Scientist

Phone: 860.486.7983

lucas.parent@uconn.edu

Haiyan Tan

Haiyan Tan, Ph.D.

Electron Microscopy Research Scientist
CAMMA

Phone: 860.486.7983

haiyan.tan@uconn.edu

Edward Wazer

Edward Wazer

Laboratory Director
CCAST

Phone: 860.486.4785

edward.wazer@uconn.edu

Lichun Zhang

Lichun Zhang, Ph.D.

Microscopy Specialist
CAMMA

Phone: 860.486.5453

lichun.zhang@uconn.edu

Building Management and Safety

Brian Cardinal

Brian Cardinal

Building Manager

Phone: 860.486.3033

brian.cardinal@uconn.edu

Jesse David

Jesse David

EH&S Coordinator

Phone: 860.486.7959

jesse.david@uconn.edu

Administrative Support, Marketing, and Finance

Raelene DeRobertis

Raelene DeRobertis

Executive Administrative Assistant

Phone: 860.486.1507

raelene.derobertis@uconn.edu

Melanie Noble

Melanie Noble

Executive Administrative Assistant

Phone: 860.486.2401

melanie.noble@uconn.edu

Amanda Klar

Amanda Klar

Fiscal Manager

Phone: 860.486.8427

amanda.klar@uconn.edu

Heike Brueckner

Heike Brueckner

Graphic and Website Design

heike.brueckner@uconn.edu

Staff from other Research Groups at IPB

Jeanette Burke

Jeannette Burke

Administrative Coordinator, CACC

jeannette.burke@uconn.edu

Ravi Gorthala

Ravi Gorthala, Ph.D.

Associate Director for Research, IASE

ravi.gorthala@uconn.edu

Ronny Heredia

Ronny Heredia

Financial Analyst, Eversource

ronny.heredia@uconn.edu

Karen Kuca

Karen Kuca

Administrative Coordinator, IASE

karen.kuca@uconn.edu

Janesa Mackin

Janesa Mackin

Administrative Program Support, IASE

janesa.mackin@uconn.edu

Mike Shelton

Mike Shelton

Administrative Service Specialist, NIUVT

mike.shelton@niuvt.us

Pouya Tavousi

Pouya Tovousi

Senior Research Scientist, REFINE

pouya.tavousi@uconn.edu